In South Carolina, employers who hires at least 4 employees are obliged to provide a Workers’ Compensation insurance. This is by the provisions of the State’s Workers’ Compensation Act. A law was implemented to make way for employees to get insurance coverage for unfortunate accident and injuries at work. Workman’s compensation is designed to provide medical care, reimburse lost wage, offer disability benefits, and even death benefits for an employee who suffers from a work-related injury or illness.
Not everyone is covered though. Take note of the workers who are under the Workers’ Compensation law in South Carolina.
• Agricultural workers
• Casual workers
• Volunteer workers
• Seller of agricultural goods
• Federal employees of the state
• Real estate agents working for a broker
• Employees of railroad or railway express companies
• Businesses with less than $3,000 in annual payroll in the previous year
• Members of limited liability company (LLC)
• Sole proprietors and partners
What is Covered?
It is important that employees of either small or large companies are covered when an accident occurs at work, or when they suffer from a disease because of their profession, whether full-time or part-time employees. The following benefits are afforded by a Workers’ Compensation policy.
Employees of South Carolina have access to immediate medical attention. Their employers have a chosen doctor who will readily assist the employees anytime they get injured at work or realized that they caught their illness from their job. It pays the necessary medical expenses such as doctor’s visits, medical treatment, medical supplies, prescribed medicines, and more. Even costs for an ongoing medical care are covered, like multiple surgical procedures, rehabilitation, and physical therapy.
While employees are taking time to heal and recover from the injury or illness, or becomes disabled, their lost days can be recompensed through a Workers’ Comp policy. Employees are entitled for 66 2/3% of their average weekly wage based in the 4 quarters prior to the date of the injury, but not exceeding the maximum average weekly wage which is determined by the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce.
The surviving spouse of the employee, in the event that the work injury or disease leads to his or her death, will be eligible for a 2/3 of the deceased worker’s average weekly wage for 500 weeks. On top of that, the employer or the employer’s insurance company shall give $2,500 to the family for the burial expenses.
Time Limits for Filing a Claim
Employees of South Carolina are responsible to notify their employers of an injury that takes place at work. They must inform their supervisor, employer, or anyone in the management about the injury within 90 days. In filing a claim with the State’s Workers’ Compensation Commission (WCC), it must be within 2 years from the date of the injury or the time that the employee realized the connection of the illness to his or her job. The request for claim will be forfeited when the employee fails to notify the employer or WCC.
INSURANCE PRODUCERS: Register with SynchronoSure® today and start earning!
Get a quote in 5 minutes or less. No carrier appointment necessary. No premium volume commitment. We pay competitive commissions on premium collected. SynchronoSure® trades with Insurance Carriers that are A- or higher rated by A.M. Best