The State of Georgia requires business with three or more employees to have a Workers Compensation benefits. This is for full-time or part-time as long as they are regular employees, including the officers of an incorporated businesses, sole proprietors and partnership. This state-mandated compensation pays for all authorized medical bills of each employee injured at work, reimburses the lost wages, and provides benefits to the employee’s dependents in the event that the workplace injury or illness leads to death.
Employers are advised to purchase the Workers’ Compensation from a private insurance company. But they also have the option to be self-insured if the business is capable of paying for their employees’ benefits. To apply, the business owner must submit a filled-out application form to Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation along with the other requirements and a payment of $500 for the processing fee. Visit the Georgia Self-Insurers Guaranty Trust Fund to access the forms and for more information.
Workers’ Compensation for Employees
Georgia aims to give the best help and protection to their employees. In line with this, a law for workplace accident insurance program for employees was regulated, and that is called Workers’ Compensation or Workmen’s Comp. When an employee injures himself or herself while doing a task at work or suffers from an occupational illness, this insurance covers all the medical and hospital bills, even drug prescriptions, travel expenses to and from the hospital or clinic. If the on-the-job injury is extreme, medical and vocational rehabilitation can be given to help the employee get back to work, most especially help them find meaningful work despite their disability.
Workers’ Comp insurance also pays for the employees’ lost days at work. According to the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Law, an employee who is unfit to work because of an accident or disease acquired from work for 7 days will be entitled to receive weekly income benefits equivalent to 2/3 of the average weekly pay not exceeding to $675. The first pay will be issued within the first 21 days from the day of inactivity from work. On condition that the employee will be inactive for more than 21 days, he or she will also receive the lost income for the first week.
Workers Comp Insurance for Small Businesses
Getting Workers’ Compensation is one of the many ways that small businesses can be protected from paying large amount of money out of their pockets for workplace accidents and damages.
SynchronoSure® offers a Workers’ Compensation that not only provides for workplace injuries and lost wages but also protects the employers from lawsuits. It has Employers’ Liability coverage up to $1 million. Check our list of 1,000 available Payroll Classifications to see if your business qualifies for this insurance.
Employers are responsible for paying for the liability and workers comp insurance of every employee they hire. In case of non-compliance, the employer will be charged of misdemeanor and will pay for fine of not less than $1,000 or more than $10,000. Failure to carry a workmen’s comp can also end to imprisonment not exceeding to 12 months. In addition to these penalties, the Board of Workers’ Compensation may also add 10% in the employee’s benefits if the employer is proven guilty of negligence to provide the mandatory workers’ insurance.
INSURANCE PRODUCERS: Register with SynchronoSure® today and start earning!
Get a quote in 5 minutes or less. No carrier appointment necessary. No premium volume commitment. We pay competitive commissions on premium collected. SynchronoSure® trades with Insurance Carriers that are A- or higher rated by A.M. Best